08 Decembre 2016: Thesis prize 2016 of the Research Federation “L’Europe en mutation” awarded to Mrs. Asako Wechs Hatanaka for her thesis defended within CEIPI’s Research Department


Mrs Asako Wechs Hatanaka, Associate Professor at Ritsumeikan University (Kyoto, Japan), received on 8th December 2016, the thesis prize (ex aequo) of the Research federation “L’Europe en mutation” for her thesis defended on 26th September 2016 within CEIPI’s Research Department “Mediation and intellectual property law. A European and comparative perspective”, written under the supervision of Prof. Christophe Geiger, Director General and Director of the Research Department of CEIPI.

This thesis prize was created in 2012 in order to recognize the outstanding works of a PhD student from a member research organization, whom thesis topic correspond to the European dimension of the Research Federation and to its main research axis. Three PhD candidates from CEIPI’s Research Department obtained the prize in 2014, 2015 and 2016.

From left to right:  Edouard Treppoz, Professor at the University Jean Moulin Lyon III, Director of the "Institut Droit Art Culture", Director of the LLM "droit international et européen des affaires", Rapporteur; Asako Wechs Hatanaka ; Annette Kur, Professor at the Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität and researcher at the Max-Planck Institute, Munich; Nari Lee, Professor at the Hanken School of Economics, Faculty of Law, Helsinki, Rapporteur;  Christophe Geiger, Professor at the University of Strasbourg, Director General of CEIPI, thesis superviser; Frédérique Berrod, Professor at the "Institut d'Etudes Politiques",  University of Strasbourg and at the "collège d'Europe de Bruges", Director of the "Fédération de recherche l'Europe en mutation".