Christophe Geiger, Director General of the CEIPI, was elected Chair of the Board of the European Copyright Society


At its meeting on 24 May 2014 in Barcelona hosted by UOC, the European Copyright Society has elected its new Board. Have been elected Lionel Bently, Centre for Intellectual Property and Information Law (CIPIL), University of Cambridge; Christophe Geiger, Center for International Intellectual Property Studies (CEIPI), University of Strasbourg (Chair); Raquel Xalabarder, Universitat Oberta de Catalunya (UOC), Barcelona.

The European Copyright Society (ECS) was founded in January 2012 with the aim of creating a platform for independent scholarly thinking on European Copyright Law. Its members are renowned scholars and academics from various countries of Europe, seeking to promote their views of the overall public interest regarding the construction of European Copyright law. In February 2013, the European Copyright Society issued a remarked opinion on the Svensson case (Case C-466/12) which was referred to the CJEU for a preliminary ruling from the Svea hovrätt (Sweden) on 18 October 2012. Earlier this year, the European Copyright Society has also issued a response to the Public consultation on the review of the EU copyright rules of the European Commission

The European Copyright Society was initiated by Professor Lionel Bently, Director of the Centre of Intellectual Property and Information Law (CIPIL), University of Cambridge (United Kingdom), Professor Séverine Dusollier, Director of the Centre de recherche information, droit et société (CRIDS), University of Namur (Belgium), Professor Reto M. Hilty, Director of the Max Planck Institute for Innovation and Competition, Munich (Germany), Professor P. Bernt Hugenholtz, Director of the Institute for Information Law, University of Amsterdam (Netherlands) and Christophe Geiger, Director General and Director of the Research Department, Centre d’Etudes Internationales de la Propriété Intellectuelle (CEIPI), University of Strasbourg (France), which are its founding members.

From left to right: Christophe Geiger, Prof. P.B. Hugenholtz, Prof. V.-L. Benabou, Prof. O.-A. Rognstad, Prof. Séverine Dusollier, Prof. L. Bently, Pr. A. Strowel, Prof. M.-C. Janssens, Prof. M. Senftleben, Prof. R. Xalabarder, Prof. R.-M. Hilty